The Nine Parts of Speech

The Nine Parts of Speech


Douglas Swartz


The Nine Parts of Speech are the basic building blocks of the English language. Every word belongs to a part of speech or to several parts of speech depending on its usage. When sentences are created the parts of speech are used to build the sentence in its proper form.

The nine parts of speech are Articles, Adjectives, Adverbs, Nouns, Verbs, Pronouns, Prepositions, Conjunctions and Interjections. These nine parts of speech and their grammar rules help writers to build effective sentences.

The more you know about the grammar rules of the parts of speech the better and more effective English communicator you will be. Study the parts of speech in detail to get a true understanding of how sentences are formed and great writers use the parts of speech to further their literary goals.